Adair County is a county located in the U.S. state of Iowa.  The county is part of Iowa's 5th congressional district.  According to the U.S. Census Bureau, the county has a total area of 570 square miles, of which 569 square miles is land and 1 square mile is water.

Adair County was formed in 1851 from sections of Pottawattamie County.  Named for John Adair, a general in the War of 1812, and the sixth Governor of Kentucky.

Adair County is divided into seventeen townships:   Eureka  -  Grand River  -  Greenfield  -  Grove  -  Harrison  -  Jackson  -  Jefferson  -  Lee  -  Lincoln Orient  -  Prussia  -  Richland  -  Summerset  -  Summit  -  Union  -  Walnut  -  Washington

Adair County Courthouse, located in Greenfield, Iowa, was built from 1891-1892.  It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1981 as a part of the County Courthouses in Iowa.  The third building the county has used for court functions and county administration.

The county’s first courthouse was located in Fontanelle from 1856 to 1874.  The two-story frame building was constructed from locally harvested wood. After the county seat moved to Greenfield the building was used as a school, church, meeting hall and town hall until it was destroyed in a fire in 1910.  A two-story courthouse was built in Greenfield for $8,000.  It was destroyed in a fire in 1889 and an opera house was used for a courthouse until a new building could be constructed.

The cornerstone for the present courthouse was laid on July 4, 1891.  It was constructed of brick in the Romanesque Revival style at a cost of $26,768.

We always seek to add more to Iowa Ghost Towns, so check back often.

Back to Adair County Page

About Adair County

©2005 Iowa Ghost Towns - ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Iowa Ghost Towns