BABCOCK. Listed in the 1886-1894 U. S. Postal Guide as a post office in Linn County, but location not found. Linn

BACH GROVE. A post office (1858-81) in the southern part of Troy Township near the Boone River. Wright

BADEN. A town laid out in 1856 in the southeast corner of section 36, German Township.  Post office 1862-72. Keokuk

BADGER HILL. A village established in about 1870 in the southern part of section 5, Spring Creek Township, about one mile northwest of the present town of Gladbrook. Post office, 1867-80. Tama

BADGER LAKE. A hamlet on the west side of the lake of the same name, Lossing being the name of the post office. Monona

BAILEY The Village of Bailey was in Wayne Township and platted November 20, 1886 Post office established March 10, 1887 and discontinued January of 1940. Incorporated as a town in 1901. Mitchell

BAILEY’S FORD. In central part of Milo Township. Post office, 1855-59. Deleware

BAILEY'S GROVE. A post office in section 6, Twin Lakes Township, in 1879 and later known as Bailey until 1885 Hancock

BAKER. In the east part of Black Hawk Township. Post office, 1861-1901. Jefferson

BALAKA. Listed in the Iowa State Gazateer of 1865 as a post office in Clarke County, but not found on maps of that period. Clarke

BALLARD POST OFFICE. In southeast part of Oakfield Township, all shown on Parker's map, l856. Audubon

BALLUFF. A Post Office (1884-90) at a point which is now in the Northern limits of the City of Davenport. Scott

BALLY GLAUGH GROVE. Pioneer name of the present hamlet of Bally Claugh in section 15, Table Mound Township. The post office was established in 1843. Dubuque

BALTIMORE. A small hamlet and a post office in section 18, Baltimore Township, on the north side of Skunk River, as shown on maps of 1857. Henry

BANGALL. Listed in the U. S. Postal Guide of 1889 as a post office in Henry County, but not found on maps of that period. (See ‘Stories of Towns Past) Henry

BANNER VALLEY. A post office from 1856 to 1866 near where the present town of Ely is located. Linn

BANNER. A post office (1874-75) near the center of section 7, Virginia Township. Warren

BARCLAY. In Northern part of section 13, Barclay Townsip. Laid out in 1854 and became prosperous, but dwindled when the Illinois Central built three miles

to the south. Post office, 1855-89 Black Hawk

BARKERSVILLE. The original name of the present village of Attica. Barkersville was the name of the post office from 1849 to 1853. Marion

BARRWOOD. The name of a post office (1881-83) at the same location as was the Walnut Grove post office. Scott

BARRYVILLE. In southeastern part of Prairie Township. Post office, 1857-97. Deleware

BARTLETVILLE. In section 19, Franklin Township. Post office, 1853-59 Clarke

BATH. Near the center of Bath Township. Post office, 1867-69. Cerro Gordo

BAUM. In section 33, Sheridan Township. Post office, 1897. Cherokee

BAXTER. A coal mining town in the south central part of section 4, Washington Township, during the 1880's. Keokuk

BAXTER. The post office of Baxter was in existence from as early as 1873 and was located about one mile southwest of the present town of Baxter. On the establishment of the latter in 1883 the post office was relocated to the new town. Jasper

BAY. In southern part of Delhi Township. Post office, 1862-63. Deleware

BEAR CREEK. A post office (1849-65) near the east edge of Bear Creek Township on the south side of Bear Creek, about one mile northeast of the present

town of Brooklyn. Poweshiek

BEAR CREEK. A station on the C., M. & St. P. Railway about four miles west of Ottumwa. It had a post office by the same name from 1909 to 1914. Wapello

BEAR GROVE. A hamlet in the northeastern part of section 24, Bear Grove Township.  Post office 1854-1910 Guthrie

BEAVER CITY. A post office, 1859-61, first located on section 4, Dayton Township, three miles west of the northwest corner of the present city of

New Hampton. Chickasaw

BEAVER GROVE. In the southwestern part of Beaver Township. Post office, 1855-57. Butler

BEEBEETOWN. A hamlet in section 26, LaGrange Township. Post office, 1879-1903. Harrison

BEELAR’S GROVE. Near where the present town of Marble Rock now stands. Post office, 1857-59. Floyd

BEERY. In the northwestern part of Baltimore Township. Post office, 1897-1900. Henry

BEETRACT. Near center of section 32, Washington Township. Post office, 1859-85. Appanoose

BELFAST. In the southwestern part of Trenton Township, south of the Skunk River, as shown on maps of 1857.  Henry

BELGROVE. In the northeastern part of Bennezette Township. Post office, 1869. Butler

BELINDA. A hamlet and post office in the western part of Pleasant Township from 1858 to 1908. A few scattered residences still remain. Lucas

BELL AIR. In the northwestern part of section 35, Sharon Township. Post office, l857-77. Johnson

BELL FOUNTAIN. A village in the southern part of section 19, Scott Township, on the southwest side of the Des Moines River, not far east of the present town

of Tracey, Marion County. Post office, 1848-76. Mahaska

BELL OR BELLTOWN. A former station and hamlet on the C. M. & St. P. Ry. in section 34, Paradise Township. Crawford

BELLAIR. In the northern part of the southwest section of Bellair Township, section 18, Township 68 north, range 18 west. It was platted in 1854 The building of the railroad town of Numa ahout a mile to the south in 1871 transferred the business to that place. Appanoose

BELLE POINT. In the north central part of Douglas Township. Post office, I850-57. Boone

BELLEMONT. The name of the post office from 1870 to 1871 at what later was called Schonberg (see here). Warren

BELLEVILLE. A former railroad station in the northern part of Polk Township, about two miles west of Packard.  Post office, 1883-96  Jefferson

BELLEVILLE. A post office in the southeastern part of Webster County in 1859 to 1861 at the forks of the Boone and Des Moines rivers. Webster

BELL'S LAKE. The pioneer name of the present village of Middleburg. Sioux

BELL'S RIDGE. A post office from 1851 to 1854 in the northwestern part of section 1, South Township. Madison

BELMONT CENTER. (See Schonberg). Warren

BELVIDERE. A village jn section 14, Belvidere Township. Laid out in 1857 and active for a few years. It contested unsuccessfully for the county seat in 1861.

Post office 1857-87. Monona

BEN LOMOND. A post office (1876-78) in the central part of Garfield Township. Pocohantas

BENAN. In the southeast corner of section 3, Glidden Township. Post office, 1893-1900 Carroll

BENBOW. A station on the old Chicago, Fort Madison & Des Moines (now the C., B. & Q.) Railroad in section 7, Washington Township. Lee

BENNETTVILLE. In section 9, Washington Township. Post office, 1893-97. Dubuque

BENNINGTON. Platted as a town in 1848 on the north side of the Des Moines River about one and one-half miles west of the present railroad station of Percy. Marion

BENSON GROVE STATION. (See Lelandsburgh) Winnebago

BENSON GROVE. A vilIage and post office (1866-84) about one mile to the east of the present railroad station of Leland. Winnebago

BENTON CENTER. Near the southeast corner of Big Grove Township. Post office, 1869 Benten

BENTON CITY. IN the southwestern part of section 20, Benton Township, just south of the Cedar River. The plat was filed in 1856. The B.C.R.& N.,

built in 1869 missed it, after which it declined. Post office, 1854-59. Benten

BENTON. A post office from 1863 to 1881 on the north line of the west section 25, Anderson Township. Mills

BENTON. Former name of the present town of Garrison. Benten

Page 1 of 4






Page 1 of 4







Have any information about one of these towns? Share with us via our Contact Page!    The county is listed in Green.


©2005 Iowa Ghost Towns ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

Iowa Ghost Towns

Town Index - B

Iowa Ghost Towns